There are 61 countries which are not in the EU, but are VISA “free”. This VISA is called ETIAS.

Citizens of these countries can go into the countries of the Schengen Area for business or tourist purposes of up to 90 days, but you are not allowed to work or study.

The EU is working to increase the security and reduce the bureaucracy, and one of the answers has been the VISA ETIAS.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS means European Travel Information and Authorisation System,  it’s quite similar to ESTA, the one used in the EE.UU. The EU has been working on it since 2016. It will most likely be ready in 2021.

This travel authorization system will collect, track and update the necessary data related to visitors in order to determine if it is safe to enter the Schengen countries.

Why is ETIAS better?

According to Jean-Claude Juncker (European Commission President) “We must know who crosses our borders. This way, we will know who travels to Europe, even before they arrive. “

ETIAS will verify if a person is a risk for the security of the Schengen countries. This will deny access to the person and avoid any potential problems within the borders of the EU.


Which is the objective of the ETIAS VISA?

  • Reduce procedures and waiting periods
  • Improve the management of the borders of the EU countries
  • Help in the detection and reduction of crimes and terrorism
  • Prevent irregular migration
  • It will complement the visa liberalization policy of the EU

How much does the ETIAS cost?

Technically, the price will be 7€ for people under the legal age and free for the rest, it can be paid by credit card and it will be valid for 3 years.

Will proof of incomes/savings be required?

No. The documentation and information required will be:

  • Passport
  • Full address
  • Email address and telephone number
  • First country of visit
  • Criminal report
  • Authorisation if travelling with a person under the legal age

It will be an online application and it won’t take more than 10 minutes.

Which countries will need a ETIAS VISA?

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Macedonia del Norte
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

If you have any specific questions, do not hesitate to leave a comment down below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.